The D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station in Lemmer has a rich history. The original plans for the steam-powered pumping station were drawn up in 1913 when steam power was still in use. The pumping station is named after D.F. Wouda, the head engineer employed by the Frisian Water Authority who designed the pumping station in 1917 and 1918, keeping to the traditional style but incorporating rationalist ideals. The pumping station was opened by Queen Wilhelmina of the Netherlands on 7 October 1920. To this day, the D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station continues to play an important role in managing water levels in Friesland.